Welcome to Family Planning Associates in Arizona.
Click Here for COVID-19 Information

Opening Hours : M-F 8am - 4:00pm; Sat 8am - Noon
  Contact : (602) 553-0440

FAQs

If you cannot find the answer to your question(s) below please feel free to reach out to our friendly staff at 602-553-0440

What is the Arizona Abortion Law?

State of Arizona Consent

The State of Arizona requires that women having an abortion must have a consultation with the doctor at least 24 hours prior to the procedure. The state requires us to give you certain pieces of information at that consultation. This information can only be given to you in person by one of our doctors. This means that you will need to make two visits to our office, one to receive the state-required information, and once for your abortion procedure. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please understand that this process is required by state law.

Arizona law requires that a minor seeking an abortion must have the consent of a parent or guardian. The law only requires one of your parents to give consent. On the day you come in, you and your parent or guardian must come to our clinic together. If your parent can’t come with you on the day of your procedure, the two of you may come in together on an earlier day so we may obtain consent. Both you and your parent must bring a government-issued photo ID such as a driver’s license or a passport. If you do not have a government-issued photo ID, you must bring an original copy of your birth certificate. If you and your parent have different last names or different addresses we will need to see documents that explain this such as a marriage license or divorce decree. When you call for your appointment, our staff will assist you in determining what documents are needed.

If you feel that you cannot obtain the consent of one of your parents to have an abortion, you may attempt to obtain a court order allowing you to have the abortion without parental consent. Our staff can assist you with this process. The forms necessary for this process are available in our office.

How is a Surgical Abortion Performed?

A surgical abortion is performed by a method called suction dilation and curettage (D&C). With this technique the cervix is opened with dilators and suction is then used to empty the uterus. The entire procedure takes under 5 minutes.

If you are over 14 weeks pregnant, you will have a 2 day procedure. On the first day Laminaria (small sticks made of sterile dried seaweed) will be inserted into the cervix. These will expand over night, slowly dilating the opening of the uterus. On the next day you will return to the clinic for the actual procedure. In some cases done after  20 weeks of pregnancy, the cervix may not be dilated enough to perform the procedure after insertion of the Laminaria. In these cases, a second insertion of Laminaria will be done and the surgery will be completed on the 3rd day.

Does My Partner Need to Know I’m Having an Abortion?

Absolutely not. Our services are completely confidential and there is no requirement to inform our partner. It is your body and your choice.

Will There Be Protesters Outside of Your Office?

It is extremely rare for there to be protesters outside our facility. If there are, they are not allowed on our private property and therefore you will never have any direct contact with them.

Questions Specific to Surgical Abortion

Will it hurt?

Most women experience some cramping during the procedure. If you choose to have IV sedation, you may fall asleep, or you may be awake and very relaxed. Most women that receive IV sedation tell us that they don’t remember anything about the surgery.

How much time do I need to take off of work or school?

We recommend taking off the day of the procedure and the next day. Many women are ready to return to work on the day after the procedure. Some need a little bit linger to recover. If needed, we can provide you with letter for your employer. The letter, of course, will not reveal the nature of your care with us.

How long will I be in your office?

Patients who are 12 weeks pregnant or less should plan to be in our office for 1 ½ hours. If you are over 12 weeks, you will be in our office for about an hour on the first day and about 2 to 3 hours on the second day.

Can I have someone come into the procedure room or recovery room with me?

In order to respect the privacy and confidentiality of our patients and provide a secure environment, we can only allow patients and staff members in the procedure and recovery rooms.

What happens to the tissue you remove from my uterus?

All fetal tissue is sent to a funeral home for cremation.

What is the Medical Abortion (Abortion Pill) Procedure?

After an ultrasound in our office, you will be given a medication called Mifepristone. This medication blocks the hormone progesterone. Without progesterone, the lining of the uterus breaks down, stopping the pregnancy. You will be given another medication called Misoprostol which you will insert in the vagina 12-48 hours later. The Misoprostol causes the uterus to contract and expel the pregnancy in a way similar to a miscarriage. You must then return to our office in 2 weeks to confirm that the pregnancy has ended.

Do I Need to Have My Parent’s Permission to Have an Abortion?

Yes.

Arizona law requires that a minor seeking an abortion must have the consent of a parent or guardian. The law only requires one of your parents to give consent. On the day you come in, you and your parent or guardian must come to our clinic together. If your parent can’t come with you on the day of your procedure, the two of you may come in together on an earlier day so we may obtain consent. Both you and your parent must bring a government-issued photo ID such as a driver’s license or a passport. If you do not have a government-issued photo ID, you must bring an original copy of your birth certificate. If you and your parent have different last names or different addresses we will need to see documents that explain this such as a marriage license or divorce decree. When you call for your appointment, our staff will assist you in determining what documents are needed.

If you feel that you cannot obtain the consent of one of your parents to have an abortion, you may attempt to obtain a court order allowing you to have the abortion without parental consent. Our staff can assist you with this process. The forms necessary for this process are available in our office.

May 20, 2021

To Our Valued Patients,

Please see the below COVID 19 Patient Info:

A friendly reminder as the CDC updates COVID19 guidance: masks are still required in all healthcare settings, including our office. Read below for our current COVID19 protocols:

  • Only patients are allowed in the office. Minors may have a parent/guardian present to complete state-required consent paperwork
  • We screen for COVID-like symptoms and exposures; your appointment may be rescheduled pending a negative COVID test if you appear to have symptoms
  • You must wear an approved mask over your nose and mouth (no mesh, shields, half masks, etc) the entire time you are in our office. We are unable to see patients who do not wear their mask correctly.
  • Your driver must check in with the front desk before your procedure can be started. They will not be able to stay in the waiting room with you
  • If someone else is using their debit/credit card to pay for your services, they must come to the office with their ID to make payment, or we can send a PayPal invoice. They will not be able to stay in our waiting room with you

*We continue to follow CDC guidelines for healthcare settings. Our COVID-19 policies are non-negotiable to receive care in our office*